Nice to meet you, 2013.

I can’t say 2012 and I got on quite well towards the end. We had our moments, but I am glad that you’re here now. Here’s the story so far:

I am currently residing in a little studio in the Valley after moving out of my house for my first full-time, salaried, degree-related job – a job which I no longer have. Between dealing with my parents’ divorce and my own resistance to continue with the company, I was moved to terminate my employment with them sooner than I had originally planned.

In today’s economy, you may think that this move was dumb – heck, I know this move was extremely emotionally-driven and imprudent – but I did make this decision with some forethought. I have closed the door to a future I never wanted, in the hopes for a path  towards something much greater. I expect this will turn out to be either the worst decision or the best decision of my life. Only time will tell.

Here’s where you come in, 2013. I am broken and bruised and trying to put myself back together better than I ever was before. Now, I don’t expect you to just roll over and give me everything I want. I know you’re going to challenge me and at times even taunt me. But I do hope that more often than not, you and I will get along.

So hello, 2013. It’s nice to meet you.

~ Wuzzat

Leave a Reply

