wuzzat:

I have always been fascinated by joinery (I file it among interests like small containers, locking mechanisms, book-binding and decorative knots). There’s a kind of elegance and sense of nostalgia. I’ve always wished for better exposure to tools and methods.

I love the joints in this article. It’s like the elaborate puzzles of traditional Japanese joinery meets modern-day Ikean practicality and technology. Oh to play with a CNC machine for a day!

Also I got a little excited to see Gregg Fleishman’s chair mentioned in this article. I had the privilege to play around in his gallery in Culver City, CA. He has some really amazing pieces that include furniture like the Nebula II chair, an adult-sized toy car built in similar fashion and kid-sized playhouses next to their scaled miniature prototypes. He didn’t say much but seemed welcoming and let my friend and I play with some modular building toys he had laid out. Every time I pass by his gallery, he has some new creation in his windows.

Looks like I’ve found tonight’s topic of curiosity-fueled research. Let’s start at the original CNC Panel Joinery Notebook here: http://blog.makezine.com/2012/04/13/cnc-panel-joinery-notebook/

Originally posted on MAKE:

"Mantis Chair" by Wildetect.

Mantis Chair by Wildetect.

For about ten years, I have been collecting various clever ways of cutting flat stock to design 3D shapes that slot together in space. Back in April, I posted a long, rambling brain-dump from this personal file under the title “CNC Joinery Notebook.” If you pick up a copy of MAKE’s just-released Volume 33, you’ll find a much-polished version of that article on p.59.

Since then, a few more patterns have come to my attention, and I thought the publication of MAKE’s new issue was a good opportunity to share them with you.

Three Basic Approaches

The design vocabulary of CNC panel construction is evolving rapidly. We’ve been tracking the story at least since 2007 when, in MAKE Vol 11, Bruce Sterling used the term “router aesthetics” to describe the emerging pattern language of furniture, and other forms, designed to be assembled from flat parts…

View original 912 more words

Leave a Reply

